Fighting for Tara by Sunanda J. Chatterjee

I received Fighting for Tara by Sunanda J.Chatterjee as a review from the author as part of the blog tour by The Book Club.

 

Blurb

How far will a mother go to save her child?

“I have no use for a baby girl. Get rid of her tonight!” He towered over her as she cringed in fear.

But Hansa, a thirteen-year-old child-bride in rural India, refuses to remain a victim of the oppressive society where a female child is an unwanted burden. Instead of drowning her baby, Hansa escapes from her village with three-month-old Tara.

Hansa soon discovers that life as a teenage mother is fraught with danger. But a single lie opens the door to a promising opportunity far from home.

Just seven years later, Hansa finds herself fighting for Tara’s life once more, this time in an American court, with a woman she calls ‘Mother.’

Will the lie upon which Hansa built her life, defeat its own purpose? How can she succeed when no one believes the truth? 

A story of two mothers, two daughters and a fight to save a child, Fighting for Tara explores the depth of love and motherhood.

My Review:

The main reason I signed up for this book review was the book cover. Something about it captured my attention. Fighting for Tara is the story of Hansa, a child bride who is also a mother and her daughter Tara, the ill-fated child. The language was simple and the characters have been beautifully created. But it is the plot which stood out for me. A poignant tale of two mothers fighting for their child tugged at my heart strings. The book has brought out raw emotions of pain, maternal love, heartbreak, religious beliefs, love, hatred, friendship and so on.

I simply could not put down the book before finishing. Every character has its own importance in the story. And I liked that. There were many favorites in this story. But if I had to pick one particular scene from the lot, it has to be the one where Hansa has been ordered by her brother-in-law to kill Tara and she is debating with her conscience. I loved how the author has played out the scene. I could feel the pain Hansa had to endure at the mere thought of killing her baby.

Though I loved the book, there was minor glitch which disappointed me. I felt the pace of the story slowed down after Hansa migrates to America with Tara. The drama element made me lose interest in the book for while. Nevertheless, this is a must read for everyone. I would definitely recommend this book for its language, story and Hansa character’s courage, determination and grit that could actually inspire many, like me.

My verdict – This fight is definitely successful.

Rating – 4.5/5.

Leave a Reply

